General LDS Information
Basic LDS Beliefs
LDS Videos
Critics' Questions
Submitted Questions
Scriptures/LDS Literature
LDS Temples
Music and Arts
LDS Online Stores
Priesthood, Humor, Miscel.
Site Map

Suggest a Site
Now accepting banner ads!

Bookmark and Share

JEFF - Why are all three members of the first presidency and all three members of a stake presidency referred to as president? The counselors of an Elder's Quorum presidency do not carry this title. We only refer to the head of a Melchizedek quorum as president, not an auxiliary. For example, the young woman's president is not President so and so. So only the president of a Melchizedek priesthood quorum takes on the title of president. But then, a mission president is called president but the president of an area is not given this title. Each member of a temple presidency is called president, at least the ones I know of, but not councilors in a mission presidency.

JOEL - After Jesus left Peter, James, and John might be considered the first presidency in the early church, with Peter serving as president. A presidency is not one person it is a group of people. Therefore anyone in a "presidency" can be called "president"; otherwise they would not be part of the presidency. So technically speaking any sister in the relief Society presidency could be called "president" as well as in the folllowing presidencies:

Church presidency
Temple presidency
Stake presidency
Mission presidency
District presidency
Branch presidency
Elder's Quorum Presidency
Relief Society Presidency

However, perhaps according to tradition, the actual implementation of such titles might not occur in every situation. Normally, any 1st or 2nd counselor presidency member lower than stake presidency are not called president, but they coud be. It depends on how the Bishop or other members in a given ward might refer to them. When in doubt, "brother" or "sister" always works.

Return to top
Return to Questions